Searching...
Filters
SmallMediumLarge
Home Print Show Topic URL Previous Next
IT Management Suite
Client Management Suite
Server Management Suite
Deployment Solution
Asset Management Suite
ServiceDesk

Installing or upgrading the Software Management Solution plug-in

Client Management Suite

Before you can deliver or manage software on client computers with Software Management Solution, you must install the Software Management Solution plug-in on those computers.

If you upgraded from a 7.x version of Software Management Solution, you must upgrade the Software Management Solution plug-in that is installed on the managed computers.

Upgrade from a 6.x version of Software Management Solution plug-in is not supported. You must upgrade Symantec Management Agent first, and then use the Software Management Solution Plug-in Install policy to install the plug-in.

You install the Software Management Solution plug-in to Windows and non-Windows computers using the Software Management Solution Plug-in Install policy.

This task is a step in the process for implementing Software Management Solution.

See Implementing Software Management Solution

To install or upgrade the Software Management Solution plug-in

  1. In the Symantec Management Console, on the Settings menu, click Agents/Plug-ins > All Agents/Plug-ins.

  2. In the left pane, under Agetns/Plug-ins, expand Software > Software Management, and then click one of the following policies:

    • Software Management Solution Plug-in Install

      Click if it is a new installation or if you upgraded from the 6.x version of the product.

    • Software Management Solution Plug-in Upgrade

      Click if you upgraded from the 7.x version of the product.

  3. In the right pane, check or uncheck Enable Verbose Reporting of Status Events according to your needs.

    This option records the detailed events that are related to the installation and posts them to the Notification Server computer.

  4. Under Applied to, on the toolbar, click Apply to, and then choose where to install the agent.

    See Specifying the targets of a policy or task

  5. Under Schedule, on the toolbar, click Schedule, and then configurethe schedule for the policy.

    Note that if you turn off and then turn on the policy, it cannot run on the same computer again. To run a policy on the same computer again, you must configure it to run on a schedule.

    See Specifying a policy schedule

  6. (Optional) Under Extra schedule options, configure following options:

    Run once ASAP

    Lets you run the policy as soon as possible, and only once.

    Note that if you turn off and then turn on the policy, it cannot run on the same computer again. To run a policy on the same computer again, you must configure it to run on a schedule.

    User can run

    Allows the user on the client computer to run the policy manually.

    Notify user when the task is available

    Displays a message to notify the user that new software is available. When the user clicks the message, the New Software is Available dialog box opens. The user can start, dismiss, or defer the policy. If you do not choose to prompt the user, the New Software is Available dialog box does not appear.

    The New Software is Available dialog box appears only if Show popup notifications is checked.

    This option does not apply to UNIX, Linux, or Mac OS.

    Warn before running

    Displays the Starting Task dialog box to notifiy the user before the policy runs.

    Unless you let the user defer the policy, the policy starts 60 seconds after the Starting Task dialog box appears. A progress bar shows the amount of time that remains. The user can dismiss the Starting Task dialog box but cannot cancel the policy unless you checked User can run.

    The Starting Task dialog box appears only if the Show popup notifications is checked in the client computer's Symantec Management Agent settings.

    This option does not apply to UNIX, Linux, or Mac OS.

  7. Turn on the policy.

    At the upper right of the page, click the colored circle and then click On.

  8. Click Save changes.