Searching...
Filters
SmallMediumLarge
Home Print Show Topic URL Previous Next
IT Management Suite
Client Management Suite
Server Management Suite
Deployment Solution
Asset Management Suite
ServiceDesk

Redirecting a Mac client computer to a local SUS

Client Management Suite for Mac

Symantec recommends that you allow direct client access to the Apple software download site. An alternative is to set up a Software Update Server (SUS), which is complex and requires substantial manual configuration.

Although it is not recommended that you configure a local Software Update Server (SUS) to manage Apple software updates, it can be done. After you configure the SUS, the Altiris Patch Management for Mac 7.1 from Symantec solution then pulls the software updates locally. This method can be more efficient and require fewer network resources than allowing every Mac client to pull updates individually from the Apple Web site .

See About hosting an internal SUS to obtain internal software updates

If you decide to redirect a Mac client to a local SUS, the option you choose depends on which user or users should be affected. It also depends on which tool should be affected, such as GUI or command line utility.

The port specification is required only if your update server uses a port other than the default port or ports.

You can direct client back to Apple rather than the local Software Update Server. To redirect a client, you remove the preference setting that points to an internal server. In this case, you have two options. You can delete the modified setting and allow the client computer to revert to Apple for software updates. Another option is to remove the preference settings altogether by deleting the files from both the user's home folders and the root home folder.

Redirecting a Mac client computer to a local SUS

  1. On the Mac client computer, click Finder > Applications > Utilities > Terminal.app to open a Terminal window (command prompt).

  2. Update the preference setting for the user or group by executing the relevant command:

    The local user who is running the command updates own preference setting.

    This method only affects the GUI Software Update tool.

    defaults write com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL "http://update.server.address:8088/"

    You (the administrator) update the global settings for all users on a system.

    This method only affects the GUI Software Update tool.

    defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL "http://update.server.address:8088/"

    The root user (a local user using sudo to get administrator privileges) updates own global settings.

    This method affects the command-line softwareupdate utility.

    sudo defaults write com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL "http://update.server.address:8088/"

To remove the preference settings and allow the client computer to revert to Apple for software updates

  1. On the Mac client computer, click Finder > Applications > Utilities > Terminal.app to open a Terminal window (command prompt).

  2. Perform an appropriate defaults read action to validate the information to be deleted.

    You can execute the defaults read command to make sure that you do want to delete the information that you are about to delete.

  3. Remove the settings using one of the following commands:

    The local user who is running the command removes own settings.

    defaults delete com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL

    You (the administrator) update the global settings for all users on a system.

    defaults delete /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL

    The root user.

    sudo defaults delete com.apple.SoftwareUpdate CatalogURL

To remove the preference settings

  1. On the Mac client computer, click Finder > Applications > Utilities > Terminal.app to open a Terminal window (command prompt).

  2. Remove the software update configuration for the account in one of the following ways:

    If you set up the SUS from a user's account, then you should remove it from that account using the rm ~/path command. Adding the tilde (~) means "Go to this user's account." This command lets you delete the account for the current user.

    The root account.

    rm /Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate.plist

    Individual user account.

    rm ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.SoftwareUpdate.plist