Searching...
Filters
SmallMediumLarge
Home Print Show Topic URL Previous Next
IT Management Suite
Client Management Suite
Server Management Suite
Deployment Solution
Asset Management Suite
ServiceDesk

Restoring a backup image

Deployment Solution

In Deployment Solution you can restore the backup image of a client computer. You can restore a backup image only to the client computer from which it is captured. Deployment Solution lets use the %Computername% as the default name for the backup image. You can also preserve any files that you want to retain on the client computer after deploying the backup image.

To restore a backup image

  1. In the Symantec Management Console, on the Manage menu, click Jobs and Tasks.

  2. On the left pane, right-click Jobs and tasks and select New > Task.

  3. On the Create New Task page, click Restore Backup Image.

  4. Select the image name to restore.

    The fields and descriptions are as follows:

    Task name icon

    Lets you specify the name of the restore backup image task in the text field.

    Image name

    Lets you browse to the backup image that you want to restore.

    Path

    Description

    Lets you view the path and description of the backup image that you want to restore.

  5. (Optional) Click Advanced to specify additional parameters.

    The tabs and their descriptions are as follows:

    Partition

    Lets you configure the disk partitions for the backup image that you want to restore.

    Check the checkbox, Resize Partition to partition the disks.

    For resizing the disk, you can select any of the following options:

    • Proportionately

    • First partition will use available disk space

    • Last partition will use available disk space

    • As follows

      This option lets you select the disk partition whose properties you want to configure.

    File Preservation

    Lets you preserve the files and folders of a disk during image restoration.

    Use the following options:

    • Preservation partition

      Select the number of partitions of the disk in which you want to preserve the files and folders that you select in the table. You can select the drives or volumes whose files or folders you want to preserve.

    • Add

      Click this option to add files and folders of the disk that you want to preserve. You add the options in the Add File Preservation dialog box.

      In the Add File Preservation dialog box select the drive whose files or folders you want to preserve. Provide the source path of the file or folder and the destination path where the file or folder must be preserved.

    • Edit icon

      Lets you edit the properties of the drive or volume that you select in the table.

    • Delete icon

      Lets you delete the drives or volumes that you select in the table.

    Command -line

    You can specify the following:

    • Base command -line

    • Destination disk (-DTK)

    • Command-line options

    HTTP

    Lets you deploy an image from the HTTP server location after you specify the HTTP credentials.

    On the Advanced options page, click OK to save your options.

  6. On the Restore BackUp Image task page, click OK.